Lofoten Islands, Norway

Lofoten is an archipelago and a traditional district in the county of Nordland, Norway. Lofoten encompasses the municipalities of Vågan, Vestvågøy, Flakstad, Moskenes, Værøy and Røst. The principal towns in Lofoten are Leknes in Vestvågøy and Svolvær in Vågan.

It is well known for its exceptional natural beauty within Norway. The Lofoten Islands are characterised by their mountains and peaks, sheltered inlets, stretches of seashore and large virgin areas.

Things to See & Do

* Mountaineering & rockclimbing
* Cycling
* Whale watching
* Lofoten Museum in Kabelvåg
* Salmon fishing

General information

Cruise Season – Feb to Dec
Currency - Norwegian Krone (NOK)
Language – Norwegian
Land Area - 1,227 km²
Population – 24,500 approx
Electricity – 2 round pins European style
Time - GMT plus one hour
International Country Telephone Code – +47

Port Location – There are ports located at Leknes and Svolvær.

Travel Links - Lofoten is served by three small airports: Leknes Airport, Svolvær Airport, Helle and Røst Airport which mainly offers flights to Bodø. There is a heliport at Værøy. Stokmarknes Airport, Skagen is located in Vesterålen. Harstad/Narvik Airport, Evenes has direct flights to Oslo and Trondheim.

Bodø is often used as a hub for travel to Lofoten; in addition to air travel there is a ferry connecting Bodø to Moskenes. There is also a ferry connecting Svolvær to Skutvik in Hamarøy, with road connection east to E6. Hurtigruten calls at Stamsund and Svolvær.

Ports Overview

Find Cruises to this Port