Balleny Islands, Sub Antarctic Islands

The Balleny Islands are a series of uninhabited islands in the Southern Ocean. The group extends for about 160 km in a northwest-southeast direction. The islands are heavily glaciated and are of volcanic origin. Glaciers project from their slopes into the sea. The islands were formed by the so-called Balleny hotspot.

The group includes three main islands: Young, Buckle and Sturge, which lie in a line from northwest to southeast, and several smaller islets and rocks. The islands are part of the Ross Dependency, claimed by New Zealand. Since 2000, New Zealand has stated its intention to propose a high-seas Marine Protected Area (MPA) that includes the Balleny Islands and the waters around them. The archipelago straddles the Antarctic Circle and contains several habitats which are representative of the Antarctic region, from the terrestrial and coastal zone of the islands to the marginal ice zone and seamounts.

Things to see and do

* Penguin Colonies
* Whale watching
* Fur seals

Cruise Season – Nov - April
Currency – New Zealand Dollar (NZD)
Language – English
Land Area – 400 km²
Population – 0
Electricity – 2 angled pins and 1 flat pin centered below Australian style
Time – GMT plus twelve hours
International Country Telephone Code – +64

Port Location - For trips to the Ross region and Eastern Antarctica, commonly used ports are: Hobart (Australia), Auckland and Lyttelton-Christchurch (New Zealand).

Transport Links – Access to these islands is generally by, or with the support of, a boat. The islands are beyond the (return) range of most helicopters and there is no airstrip for fixed wing aircraft. Access is generally by permit only.

Ports Overview

Find Cruises to this Port