Shumagin Islands, Alaska

The Shumagin Islands are a group of 20 islands in the Aleutians East Borough south of the mainland of Alaska. The largest islands are Unga Island, Popof Island, Korovin Island, and Nagai Island. Other islands include Andronica, Big Koniuji, Little Koniuji, Simeonof, Chernabura, and Bird. The population of the islands are based almost entirely in the city of Sand Point, on Popof Island.

The waters around the Shumagin Islands are teeming with fish, cod, halibut, and in season salmon, and are rich in marine mammals, and shellfish. Birds are also plentiful in the islands. Some land animals, foxes and land otters, are found and in the past caribou were abundant.

Things to See & Do

* Nature walks
* Hiking
* Bird watching
* Unga island trip
* Fishing

General information

Cruise Season – May - September
Currency - United States Dollar (USD)
Language - English
Land Area – 1,192 km²
Population – 900 approx
Electricity – 110 vlt 2 perpendicular flat pins USA style or with a round pin below
Time - GMT minus ten hours
International Country Telephone Code - 1

Port Location – There is a port located at Sand Point on Popof Island.

Transport Links – There is a scheduled daily air service from Anchorage to Popof island and a monthly state ferry service in summer.

Ports Overview

Find Cruises to this Port